Mbappe pips Messi to Golden Boot

Kylian Mbappe’s treble-clincher in the final secured him the Golden Boot ahead of Lionel Messi.

LUSAIL CITY, QATAR - DECEMBER 18: Kylian Mbappe of France walks past the FIFA World Cup trophy after collecting the adidas Golden Boot during the FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022 Final match between Argentina and France at Lusail Stadium on December 18, 2022 in Lusail City, Qatar. (Photo by Lars Baron/Getty Images)

  • Kylian Mbappe has won the adidas Golden Boot at Qatar 2022

  • The 24-year-old was the first Frenchman to win the award in 64 years

  • Lionel Messi and Olivier Giroud took the Silver and Bronze Boots

    Kylian Mbappe has won the adidas Golden Boot at the FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022™. The France forward scored eight times, one more than Lionel Messi, who collected the Silver Boot. Olivier Giroud‘s four goals seized him the Bronze Boot.

    Mbappe scored three goals in the group stage and five in the knockout phase, including a hat-trick in the final, which France ultimately lost on penalties.

    He became only the second player to score more than six goals since 1974. Ronaldo, to whom Mbappe has been consistently juxtaposed, netted eight for Brazil in 2002.

    The 24-year-old also moved on to 12 World Cup goals overall, just one shy of the France record held by Just Fontaine.

    Award winners
    Adidas Golden Ball: Lionel Messi
    Adidas Golden Boot: Kylian Mbappe
    Adidas Golden Glove: Emiliano Martinez
    Best Young Player: Enzo Fernandez
    FIFA Fair Play Award: England

    Golden Boot winners
    1930: Guillermo Stabile (8 goals)
    1934: Oldrich Nejedly (5)
    1938: Leonidas da Silva (7)
    1950: Ademir de Menezes (9)
    1954: Sandor Kocsis (11)
    1958: Just Fontaine, France (13)
    1962: Florian Albert, Garrincha, Valentin Ivanov, Drazan Jerkovic, Leonel Sanchez and Vava (4)
    1966: Eusebio (9)
    1970: Gerd Muller (10)
    1974: Grzegorz Lato (7)
    1978: Mario Kempes (6)
    1982: Paolo Rossi (6)
    1986: Gary Lineker (6)
    1990: Toto Schillaci (6)
    1994: Oleg Salenko and Hristo Stoichkov (6)
    1998: Davor Suker (6)
    2002: Ronaldo (8)
    2006: Miroslav Klose (5)
    2010: Thomas Muller (5)
    2014: James Rodriguez (6)
    2018: Harry Kane (6)